Past Executive

The Union of Northern Workers is lead by its Executive, which governs the UNW between conventions.  The Executive is elected at the UNW Triennial Convention, where delegates meet to decide issues of policy and set the direction for the UNW.

If a Regional Vice President or Equity Vice President has to step down during the three year cycle, an election is run by mail ballot to all signed members of that Region.

The members of the Union of Northern Workers Executive elected at 2017 Convention

(front row left to right) Equity Vice President Rashmi Patel, Regional Vice President (RVP) Ivan LandryKimberlite RVP Susan HarrisonSomba K'eRVP Lauraine ArmstrongFort Smith.

(middle right) RVP Christina HolmanDeh Cho 

(back row left to right) Second Vice President Marie Buchanan, President Todd Parsons, RVP Jason CardNorth Great Slave, First Vice President Gayla Thunstrom, RVP Dawna O'BrienHay River, RVP  David BobBeaufort Delta/Sahtu.   

The members of the Union of Northern Workers Executive elected at 2014 Convention:

(front row left to right) Regional Vice President (RVP) Deh Cho  Christina Holman; 1st Vice President Gayla Thunstrom, 2nd Vice President Marie Buchanan, RVP Lauraine Armstrong—Fort Smith,

(back row l to r) RVP Alex Lambrecht—Somba K’e; RVP Ivan Landry—Kimberlite; RVP Chris Potyok—North Great Slave; President Todd Parsons; RVP Val Robertson—Beaufort Delta/Sahtu; Equity Vice President Miriam Gordon; RVP Dawna O'Brien—Hay River.